Introducing Freakazoid

Introduction

(S. Joshua Swamidass) #1

Continuing the discussion from Alter's Case Against The Resurrection:

Nice to meet you @Freakazoid. Welcome to Peaceful Science. Tell us about yourself? What brings you here?

(S. Joshua Swamidass) #2

Also, what is your training? I appreciate your help on the other thread. We’ve needed someone with the NT knowledge here for a while.

(Dr. Patrick Trischitta) #3

@Freakazoid is that your real name? Would you like to be called Mr. Freak or is Ms. Zoid more appropriate? Note that your voice will be considered more credible if you drop the anonymity.

(S. Joshua Swamidass) #4

100% true. We place a premium on real identities, though we do allow anonymity.

Someone mentioned this forum on Facebook. I’ve been viewing it for a few days and thought I could help. I’m a grad student right now (about 2 years so far), but I might quit my program. The job market is terrible. Lots of programs are shutting down. There is a big move to adjuncts. No matter how good your degree, getting hired is a crapshoot.

I respect that, but I would like to retain my anonymity due to the fact that I am still a grad student. Sadly, there are a lot of academics that can and will go after you career if you offend them. There is stuff I can say online that I wouldn’t want to say in real life.

(S. Joshua Swamidass) #7

This is a valid reason to be anonymous. What type of graduate school are you in? What are you studying?

I’ll soon have my masters in what is basically new testament studies at a secular university. It’s a good program. I like to study issues related to the Gospels although I try to keep up in other areas as well. I have the option of doing an Phd but am seriously reconsidering it.

(S. Joshua Swamidass) #9