Is Christianity Reducible to Values?

Your missing the point here @Patrick.

You don’t have to agree with the Gospels, but it is worth understanding what you reject. It is the same request I make of YECs that come here attacking evolution. Understand what you reject.

I studied the Gospels like NT Wright studied Genesis - in the mindset of the culture that wrote them. In the case of the Gospels, it is actually easier to study because the morality, ethics, and values of the people 2000 years ago is pretty much understood. It is not as ancient as the OT. So when I study the Gospels, it makes sense from a 2nd Century Europe perspective. The New Testament is much softer than the old testament. Woman are treated much better in NT than OT.

But we all live in 2018 modern society. Each time someone brings in a passage from the Gospels or new testament and tries to tell me how to live in 2018, I can easily show how it is far from the moral, ethical norms of today’s society. YECs come here to attack evolution on the science. I come here to question Christian morality, ethics and values with regard to living in a secular scientific society.

That is true…

That is true too.

But I still think you are missing the point. In fairness though, I’m not sure its your fault. A lot of Christians talk and act as if their purpose is to promote Biblical moral values. That, it seems, is not your fault for taking them at their word on that.

I see it differently though. Biblical values are not the reason I am a Christian. I found something much greater here.

I think you are a Christian because the core values of Christianity gives your scientific work greater purpose and meaning. It makes you whole, it inspires you, it is something greater than yourself. I absolutely admire and respect that.

1 Like

That is very kind of you to say.