The EvoGrad Blogger

Introduction
(S. Joshua Swamidass) #1

Welcome @evograd. We are glad to have you here. I’ve seen your blog before. It has a lot of good stuff. I especially liked your series on Jeanson’s work.

https://evograd.wordpress.com/

I’m currently a graduate student, studying evolutionary biology, and I’ve been interested in the evolution/creation/ID “debate” since I started my undergraduate degree in biology several years ago. Hopefully it goes without saying, but I’m very much on the “side” of evolution in the “debate”. Prior to that, I wasn’t really aware of the anti-evolution movements of modern young-earth (and old-earth) creationism and intelligent design, beyond having heard of a few fundamentalists in the USA who took the bible literally. As a result of this timing, I was hyper-aware of the relevance of what I was studying to the “origins debate”, for better or for worse.

I don’t plan to talk about religion on this blog, but since it’s relevant to many of those who reject evolution I’ll make it clear where I stand. Religion wasn’t really a part of my upbringing, essentially my only experience with religion was going to church services a couple of times a year with my school to mark holidays like Christmas and Easter. Growing up, I was neither encouraged to believe nor encouraged to disbelieve, the subject just didn’t come up. I identify as an atheist now, because I simply don’t see sufficient evidence for some kind of higher power. At the same time, I don’t have any problems with other people being theists – I’m not one of those “firebrand” atheists, although I do sympathise with some criticisms of religion and faith in society.
https://evograd.wordpress.com/about-me/

3 Likes
The ID Publication Record
(Blogging Graduate Student) #2

Thank you.