Donald Hoffman, Worldviews in Science, Evolution vs. Truth

This is really more of a philosophical post, and I’m interested to learn what scientists think of it.

Disclaimer: I’m not a scientist. I am a YEC and Christian. I recently came across a video on Donald Hoffman’s Conscious Agent theory because I’ve viewed some of ZDoggMD’s stuff on COVID. It’s here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dd6CQCbk2ro

The first part of the interview was interesting - in some ways, sort of confirming a Christian worldview. The second part was religious and sort of creepy and felt demonic. I’ve spent some time trying to figure out what he’s actually proved and what is just hypotheses. But thinking about this brought to mind:

I’m curious where scientists draw the line between neutral science, and stuff like his where it’s postulating how the world might be or what reality is.

To back up: what I got from watching some of his interviews is this. He says his theorem, based on evolutionary game theory simulations is this: “Organisms that see reality as it is are never more fit than organisms of equal complexity that see none of reality and are just attuned to fitness payoffs.”

So I read that and think - right, truth exists outside of ourselves, and we all need a Savior to be right with truth/God. There is no virtue or truth in evolution by natural selection as a means to sustain nature or humankind. Evolution is in contrast to wisdom/truth in Proverbs 8 Proverbs 8:22-36 ESV - “The LORD possessed me at the - Bible Gateway where searching for wisdom is virtuous because wisdom itself is what gives life. Striking I came across that in Bible reading today as I was deciding whether to post this.

Hoffman takes his theorem and does something quite different. Some quotes I wrote down from interviews:

• If our senses evolved and were shaped by natural selection, the probability that we see reality is 0.
  • We can’t use the language of space and time to describe reality