Genetic Drift

I believe this can be quickly answered. I’m not looking for an apologetic argument. I’m just trying to understand something. So, feel free to explain in as much detail as you think is neccessary, but please keep in mind that I have no background in chemistry, or microbiology. I am a paramedic. We went over some things, like ATG and energy production, but it was a brief look. The focus was prodomenately on saving lives in the field. One of the things that changed in the way EMS operated after 9/11 was the use of common talk over the radio. It became painfuly clear that different agencies, some in the same districts, used different codes. So, when one agency tried to communicate with the other agency using codes the messages were misinterpreted, coordination was lost, and maybe some lives. So plain talk was determined to be the best way to communicate, because simple & common speach means everyone will understand. So, if you can, please follow the acronym, KISFSPLM. Keep It Simple For Stupid People Like Me.

As I understand it, there are a number of possible nitrogenous base pair combonations that DNA can use to code for the same protein. This is a neutral drift that can occur where one of the bases is substituted with no change-- like alternative spelling of a word that has no effect on its meaning. What causes this drift is what my curriosity is about right now. Is this, or can this be the same as codon bias that is affected by enviromental availability of materials needed for the senthesis of the nitrogenous bases? As far as I know the codon usage bias was seen in microorganisms, not in larger animals like rats. I’m not sure if the genetic drift has been observed in rats or bacteria, but I believe it has been seen in larger animals. And I assume that this is all transferable from microorganism to all levels or organism.