Honesty and searching for truth in Christianity

I have been a lurker of the “Is Evolutionary Theory a Fallacy” thread for a bit and one comment by OP really struck me:

“Part of the problem here, I think, is that for some years I was a pastor and evangelist, so I tend to speak what I believe to be the truth without a lot of overly tentative qualifications.”

After my youth and own exploration of Christianity increased beyond basic tenets, I started to realize that most people and especially at the pulpit, spoke with authority on many things even in the faith that they only have tentative access to a limited certainty.

I remember learning serious challenges to various perspectives on science, interpretation, and the bible itself while the opposite was said in church despite knowledge of these issues. I found it dishonest and harmful.

I can understand our imperfect knowledge, beliefs, and ability to constantly move towards more true things is a limiting factor.

Sometimes it just seems that many places and people want to reinforce a certain variation of belief system. I would love a sermon with qualifiers, citations, and humility.

5 Likes

Amen.

1 Like

Perhaps the next time we get such a visitor we should start by asking for qualifiers and citation first, before diving any deeper into a question. I don’t think we can ask for humility, it’s either there or it’s not. More often not.

1 Like

This reminds me of something that I picked up on when I was reading some of Bart Ehrman’s books 10-20 years ago (so I cannot remember the exact specifics). He seemed to be struck by the contrast between the degree of nuance and tentativeness expressed in an academic setting (including to preachers-in-training in seminaries), with the degree to which this is all stripped away at the pulpit.