How to Debate a Flat-Earther

2 Likes

But he stops there, just when he’s getting to the point. How would you build trust with a flat Earther?

3 Likes

Oh sure, ask the hard questions! :wink:

1 Like

Flat Earthers trust scientists who they think are backing their claims, so I don’t think trust is the issue. Rather, I think they have an attraction towards secret societies and secret knowledge.

2 Likes

Has anyone here ever met a flat earther?
I have yet to, fortunately, because I think that would be maddening to me.

However, I think this concept would relate to dialogues I’ve been trying to have with people who are skeptical of vaccines, and now also those who are opposed to masking

2 Likes

This right here. I have a lot of experience talking to Flat Earthers online. The best way to convince a Flat Earthers to re-examine their ideas is to start with how uninformed or to use a less polite word, “stupid”, the typical Globe-Earthers are. This is not a lie, as most people have nowhere near the physics background required to debunk the stronger Flat Earth arguments. Then, show them some of the “exclusive” knowledge that only physicists know of; this makes them feel inducted to an exclusive club with “secret” knowledge. Finally, once they have internalized this feeling of exclusivity, show how this new “exclusive” knowledge actually points to a globe Earth.

Disclaimer: I have never directly turn a Flat Earther to a Glober Earther within a single discussion. The furthest I can do is to get Flat Earthers to question their previously unshaken belief, and start the journey of re-examining their ideas.

6 Likes

Could you induct us into that club by mentioning a few bits of that “exclusive” knowledge? How do we know you’re not just in cahoots with the moon landing hoaxers? And the great circle route conspirators?

4 Likes