Ohio House passes bill allowing student answers to be scientifically wrong

If passed, Ohio students get to the opportunity to write, “Mind” as the answer to test questions in chemistry, biology, physics and other science classes…

1 Like

Let me pretend that I am teaching a science class in an Ohio school.

In an exam, I ask a question that relates to the age of the earth.

A student replies “the earth is 6,000 years old”.

That looks like a religious answer to me. So I cannot punish the student for that answer. But I also cannot reward the student for that answer (as I understand the legislation). So it seems to me that my best response is to treat it as if the student had chosen to not answer that question. That way, I am neither punishing nor rewarding the answer.

As a teacher, I would have made it clear to my students that exam questions were asking about the scientific consensus, not about their personal beliefs.

Suppose a student answered “According to science, the earth is around 4 billion years old, but I personally believe that it is only 6000 years old.” I would give that student credit for the answer, and ignore the part about personal belief.

This is actually, how I would have handled the situation anyway, without that Ohio legislation. So I don’t really see the legislation as changing anything. It is just politicians making a political statement in legislation that won’t really do anything.

I’m inclined to think that some reactions are a tad overplayed.

6 Likes

I think the OP post misrepresents the law. Looking over the changes, it does not seem to allow this. Let’s look at the example of the age of the earth. As @nwrickert explains:

How old is the age of the earth?

A student could answer:

The mainstream scientific consensus is that the earth is (approx) 4.5 billion years. But I believe it is 6,000 years old.