The Bad Design Argument

This bad design argument is common but pretty bad. I’ve always opposed it. Surpringly even TE use it. Why do you think that is?

The Cambrian Explosion And Evolution

It’s a powerful argument, as long as one doesn’t think too deeply about its assumptions, or look carefully at the biological details. When I was a graduate student, I spent long hours in the biology library trying to find the observational evidence for Gould’s claim that the panda’s thumb was suboptimal. Nothing.

Or, rather, the available evidence all pointed in the opposite direction, namely, that the thumb was superbly structured for its main functional role, manipulating and stripping bamboo.

Why do yo think TE has echoed these bad design arguments? They just do not make sense, and are obviously loaded with the wrong theology.

I was surprised when Keith Fox used this versus Axe in the Henry Center exchange.

The book has an agenda for an anti creation view of the world. The section on reproduction is particularly bad, as it ignores the functional reasons for several of these cases of “bad” design.

Is it really? Who finds it convincing? It is not just bad theology and questionable science, but also against our instincts.

“It is not just bad theology and questionable science, but also against our instincts.”

I suggest being more careful or cautious when talking about our supposed ‘instincts,’ Joshua. There are ‘scientists’ who study them & us, but those scientists are neither you nor most of your readers. The leap from genetics to genealogy is great. That from physics to psychology, even greater.

The ‘bad design’ argument isn’t either of the things you say when it is properly contextualised and defined. ‘Bad design’ is both a scientific and a theological topic when properly framed & attended. And again, let’s not forget that the ‘philosophy of design’ or ‘ethics of design’ and even ‘aesthetics of design’ is inevitably a crucial part of the discussion.