The Great Computational Biologists Are All ID?

Who are all the great engineering computational biologist that you refer to? Reference at least a few papers of the best. Tell us where ID is already well established as a scientific discipline? Back up your claims.

2 Likes

This is reasonable request, I think. I would like to see some examples too.

Is James Shapiro on the list?

1 Like

I’m never sure where to place Shapiro.

I would object to him being called a “computational biologist.” Shapiro, as far as I can tell, has made zero contributions to computational biology and has zero training in computational biology. This probably the most charitable explanation for why he has not yet figure out the meaning of “random.”

So, I am a computational biologist. I just received tenure in my department at a top five institution. Requirements for tenure here are to be within the top five assistant professors nationally in my field. I cleared that bar and was promoted with enthusiasm. You can find my publication record here: http://swami.wustl.edu/swamidass_cv.pdf.

I trained under one of the great ones, Pierre Baldi, at the University of California Irvine. He is still an active scientist with an (H-index of 92), who has written textbooks on computational biology. He is one of the leading computational biologist in the country, and he is the person I learned information theory from. You can find his publication list here: ‪Pierre Baldi‬ - ‪Google Scholar‬.

I would like to know @EricMH, how have we unjustly made use of ID theory? Please also show me which of our papers apply ID theory to make any important advances. I would very much like to know about this.

6 Likes

Here I’m just going off a cursory look at your CV paper titles without digging into their contents. At a high level I see a couple topics: