The Relationship Between Math and Physics

Science
Philosophy

(Antoine Suarez) #1

I am a Swiss quantum physicist and philosopher working on the foundation of quantum physics, anthropology, and questions at the boundary of science and theology.
As a quantum physicist I have proposed and realized experiments on quantum nonlocality which have contributed to the insight that quantum correlations come from outside space-time: “not all that matters for physical phenomena is contained in space-time”.

Mathematics is a basic ingredient of the world we live in. Therefore proving theorems give you new knowledge about the world and allow you to better predict the phenomena.

If I understand well you like Josh are a computational biologist. In your work you are doing nothing other than reproduce computations that are going on in the world and shape it.

Side Comments on Suarez and Swamidass
(Dr. Patrick Trischitta) #2

I too have studied the recent experiments in quantum nonlocality. There are several physicists here who can add much to the discussion. Can we explore your insight that quantum correlations come from outside spacetime? And “not all that matters for physical phenomena is contained in spacetime?”

(John Harshman) #3

Sounds like some variety of Platonism. I would disagree. We use mathematics to describe and model the world. To the extent that our models are accurate, they describe the world correctly. We determine the extent to which out models are accurate by testing them against observation. I don’t see physicists as any different in this respect from biologists.

I would not describe myself as a computational biologist, though I use computers. I’m an avian molecular phylogeneticist.

(Antoine Suarez) #4

With pleasure Patrick.

You find my insight developed in this paper:
https://arxiv.org/abs/1712.06448

Which “recent experiments in quantum nonlocality have you studied”?

(Antoine Suarez) #5