The Semiotic Argument Against Naturalism

A while ago @swamidass commented on a blog post I wrote back in 2013 (https://standard-deviations.com/2013/10/07/the-semiotic-argument-against-naturalism/) to help me make sense of John Lennox’s argument in his book God’s Undertaker. He asked me if we could continue the conversation here.

I’ll give a short summary of the blog post below. Lennox’s book is a much better version of it, which I would recommend. It’s interesting to me because it uses mathematics and algorithmic theory to critique evolutionary theory (I’m an engineer, not a biologist). Although I have no vested interest in it being valid, I think it is fun and have yet to see a strong refutation.

I’ve called it the semiotic argument against naturalism, since it uses information theory (semiotics) to argue against evolution as a plausible mechanism for abiogenesis (the origin of life), but probably also for increasingly complex organisms. The short version goes like this:

1. Genetic systems are information systems
This is widely acknowledged by most biologists, so I’ll leave it at that.

2. The information contained in a DNA molecule is algorithmically incompressible.