When Scientists “Choose” Mutants

This paper says this “Each generation consists of a maximum of ten arbitrarily chosen clones, whereby the clone with highest infectivity was selected to be the parent clone of the generation that followed.”, who selected it?If it was a scientist then it is an Intelligent agent.

That’s not valid @jorronet.

I’m new in this blog so I’m learning how to use it, please excuse me if I’m breaking any rule. Please also clarify.

No rule broken. The issue is that the scientists are simulating what happens in nature. So that isn’t a valid reason to call what they did ID.

4 Likes

Oh!! Thanks!! I was worried!! My point is if natural selection would do it or the scientist chose the optimal result.

1 Like

If the scientist chooses in a way that simulates nature, as was done here, the experiment is still valid.

2 Likes

I don’t doubt about the validity of the result but my question is , would natural selection do it? How can we test it?

1 Like

The rounds of mutation and selection within the experiment are important. What they did was randomly mutate a portion of the phage genome, and they blindly chose a handful of those random mutants without knowing how effective they would be. The randomly chosen mutants were then tested for infectivity, and the one with the highest infectivity was selected for the next round. The process then repeats. Mutate the selected high infectivity mutant, randomly select a handful, and then see which of those randomly selected mutants has the highest infectivity. They were letting the results of the experiments choose which mutants to pass onto the next generation.

This is a good approximation of how natural selection works. The phage that infect the most cells will usually be the phage with the highest fitness. Mutations that increase infectivity will be selected for.

5 Likes

Then the way in which the paper was written was not the most appropriate? It indicates that someone made the choice.

1 Like