A New Aether?

A handful here have engaged in my crazy thought experiments. I couldn’t help but share this video as it is fun. https://youtu.be/M3GQM7tuq2w

After watching the video, I realized I was arguing for the aether as well and that we see it in gravitational waves. Gunnar Nordstrom, a Swedish physicist and colleague of Einstein, wrote a paper that said the gravitational field and electromagnetic field can be expressed as the same if we live in 4 dimensions inside a five dimension universe.

The video talks about using an interferometer to detect the aether. So could someone talk me down from the crazy since I’m not a scientist: how is LIGO different from the interferometer that was used to try to find the aether? Is it actually different or can we just measure more precisely? How do we know it detects gravitational waves and not the aether?

1 Like

The main principle of the LIGO apparatus is the same as the Michelson-Morley experiment which was meant to detect aether. The differences are mainly in the scale and precision that the physicists care about. (Here is a link to LIGO’s webpage explaining this in more detail.) The LIGO apparatus has much longer arms (4 km) compared to MM’s (only 1.3 m). LIGO also has much more laser power bouncing back and forth in the cavity formed by the arms and mirrors, and their mirrors are stabilized to be immune to the effects seismic vibrations and other disturbances which may change the length of the arms. All of this is needed to get to their extreme level of precision. LIGO wants to make sure that any changes to the length of the arms of the interferometer are due to gravitational waves and not unintended terrestrial effects.