Evolution of the Placenta

Let me give you an example. One big novelty in mammalian evolution is the placenta. Many modern papers hypothesise that key changes required for placenta were incorporated through viral infections.
Now how does common ancestry explain anything about the development of the placenta? The true mystery is in how a viral genome turned out to be such a beneficial fit.
Hence my statement that the faster the change, the more trivial common ancestry becomes as an explanation.
Would you agree?

1 Like

Can we have someone who knows something about evolution explain this? I am not an expert but I do know enough to know that you are mashing up the science. Dr. Swamidass, please help us.

1 Like

Are you kidding me?

Sure… I would be glad if anyone pitched in.

1 Like

Not kidding at all. There is an expert in evolutionary biology right here. He is a practicing scientist who is working at the frontier in that science. Ask him for help understanding the science.

1 Like

I am not trolling, George. He has questions about science. The real expert here is Dr. Swamidass. Let him tutor him.

1 Like

This is really an interesting topic that I’ve already written about before, along with @vjtorley . I’ll dig that up and show you later.

Also @T.j_Runyon is a scientist in training, and certainly has insight to offer. I’ve often learned from him, especially because he is a paleontologist, and I am not.

2 Likes

Thanks for the kind words. @Ashwin_s I haven’t forgot about you. I will return to this. Crazy day.

@Ashwin_s take a look at this article, and ask your questions from there:

https://uncommondescent.com/evolution/the-amazing-placenta-a-reply-to-dr-ann-gauger/

@jongarvey this is an interesting case of intrinsic teleology and neutral evolution at the same time.

1 Like

@vjtorley continues to amaze me with the amount of work he puts in

1 Like

Also found these interesting papers:

https://www.nature.com/articles/s41559-017-0072

2 Likes

Hi @swamidass,