Five biblical reasons I am not a young-Earth creationist

What do the YEC’s here think? @r_speir, @J.E.S, @stcordova

2 Likes

I was never a YEC. What that page presents is about how I understood Genesis while growing up. And it makes far more sense than the YEC interpretation of Genesis. But YEC is a cult, and cults seem relatively resistant to evidence and common sense.

Until we have thought of everything, we have only thought a lot of nothing. I thought YEC was dead and gone, but apparently, there is more to consider. See my post here

https://discourse.peacefulscience.org/t/does-appearance-of-age-render-god-a-deceiver/1596/216

There have been some ongoing conversations elsewhere around Dr. Todd Wood’s The Quest: Exploring Creation’s Hardest Problems. I’ve been wrestling personally with this topic for the past several decades. I have recently decided, based especially upon this book and subsequent conversations with YECs, that one of the main issues that allow one to follow the YEC thought is that adherents to a young earth philosophy are not affected in the way that most of us are by cognitive dissonance.

To say that YEC “is a cult” is not correct, and these words are inflammatory. No Baptist, for instance, wants to hear that they are in a cult. It simply isn’t true. However, there is a common vein that seems to run squarely through both arenas, and that is that adherents in both realms do not seem to be affected by cognitive dissonance as most are.

Wood, in The Quest (p. 8) says:

If you listen to my critics. I’m supposed to suffer from something called “cognitive dissonance,” which according to Wikipedia… [Wikipedia definition]… Because I can (and do) articulate and explain evolution like an actual evolutionist, creationists wonder how ( can “believe” evolution and still be a creationist. For the same reason, evolutionists can’t understand why I would still believe such “nonsense” about God and creation.