How Do Scientists Believe The Resurrection?

I do. I’d like to know how one can be a scientist and believe that at the same time.

2 Likes

I am a scientist that affirms the Ressurection. So is @pevaquark, @cwhenderson, @jordan, @dga471, and many others. What exactly is the question?

Yeah I realise there are people who believe both. What I’m asking is how. How do you square your scientific knowledge with your theological beliefs?

1 Like

Well, about to publish an article from @dga471 that would be a good place to have that conversation. This is a valid question. Give us a day or two (or maybe just a few hours). I’ll publish that article, and let’s discuss it there.

2 Likes

Fair enough.

2 Likes

@Rumraket (@swamidass & @jongarvey ):

So am I to understand your comments to mean that since you are an “Atheist Molecular Biological Technician”, it is beyond your comprehension to believe a scientist can ALSO believe that there is a divine being (or 2 or 3?) that is capable of supernatural performances?

How is it that you are so lacking in imagination that you cannot arrive at an intuitive understanding of such matters?

To be fair, @Rumraket was asking how you square the two. No one is doubting the sincerity of people’s beliefs and their ability to be a scientist. The question is how you keep those two mind sets from clashing together.

Speaking for myself, I do see a potential problem when it comes to consistency. How do you allow for the supernatural in one area but not allow it in another area? The best solution I have found is that is just the way it is. Humans aren’t machines, and we don’t have to be consistent. We humans can and do hold contradictory beliefs, and the universe keeps moving along. I also don’t pretend to speak for believers, so take it for the very fallible opinion that it is.

3 Likes

No. I comprehend that this is the case.

How is it that you are so lacking in imagination that you cannot arrive at an intuitive understanding of such matters?