How Homochirality Arises

Continuing the discussion from Modeling Studies on Panspermia:

@Guy_Coe, this article has some helpful information on different mechanisms that can give rise to homochirality. Once the cell arises, biological systems will usually find it easier to make chiral molecules than racemic molecules, so the process perpetuates.

2 Likes

Chirality is also very interesting to me. I studied photochemistry of chiral molecules in graduate school and you need (I think always, but could be wrong) chirality to make rotary molecular motors function. I printed out the paper and may post more when I get through it.

2 Likes

I’ve read that article before, and after reading it again, I come away with the sense that it’s mostly just an optimistic hypothetical description of a number of interesting lines of research, with a few interesting but inconclusive laboratory efforts. It strikes me that we are not much closer to solving this basic mystery after 30 years of research. “May be able to” is not a very definite description of what the known processes can do. They need a “nudge,” however that’s accomplished…

A coin has gotta flip heads or tails.

No nudge needed. Rather this shows that homo chirality can arise by several mechanisms. This is an example of symmetry breaking. Much like…

Isn’t a few interesting laboratory efforts infinitely more than the laboratory efforts from Reasons to Believe, whom you support?

Why do you find RTB’s rhetorical efforts so much more convincing than evidence?

RTB’s “rhetorical” efforts on the age of the earth have been immensely helpful and educational. They do a great job on astrophysics, but have triangulated off of biology in many ways.

2 Likes

You guys seem unable to sort fact from fiction with regards to some of your explanatory theories, is all I can say.