Possible Accidents in the Medical Center

I have the utmost respect for Doctors; however, mistakes do happen in medical centers. Around ten years ago, I had to go to receive a flu shoot at the city medical center. I was called into her office by the nurse. She prepared a hypodermic needle to make the injection; however, there was one problem. She did not put any vaccine in the hypodermic. We all know what would have happened had she injected me with the needle that was full of air. My heart would have stopped and would have been dead. Something or Someone told me to look at the needle. I took it from her and told her that it was empty. She apologized, and I made her fill another needle and made her let a little vaccine out. To this day, I believe the Triune God was watching over me.

God’s blessings to all of you, and May He bless even those that do not believe.

1 Like

When I was a student, I went to watch a nephrectomy - removal of diseased kidney removal to non-medics - and noticed they’d put the unconscious guy on the table with the wrong side facing up. There were blushes when I mentioned it (which of course I only did because I’d been keen enough to look at the notes).

Probably the surgeon would have twigged before he wielded his scalpel, but if not … living with no kidneys is problematic!

2 Likes

Good work, Jon. Tell your family hello.

1 Like

He is gone now but the hospitals over here would have killed my step-father many times over if my mother had not been watching them like a hawk. They work people to exhaustion and then wonder why they make dumb mistakes.

1 Like

You are exactly right. I believe our medical system in the US needs a total work over. Doctors and nurses work hard and are only human.

1 Like