The First Time I’m Scared of a Word

I’m horrible at spelling. Maybe that’s why I’m a chemist instead of a biologist. All those letters (ATGC) and odd words make my eyes glaze over. In chemistry you can get away mostly with drawing and doing math :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Unless you’re a biochemist working on ribulosebisphosphatecarboxylaseoxygenase or something equally distressing! :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Is… Is that an actual word?

1 Like

Is the new supercalifragilisticexpialidocious.

Yes. And it is actually intelligible to me. I’m concerned about my sanity.

3 Likes

This is actually the first time I’m actually scared of a word.

1 Like

Then you need My First Book of Ribulosebisphosphatecarboxylaseoxygenase the Cat by Dr Swamideuss.

4 Likes

pneumonoultramicroscopicsilicovolcanoconiosis still wins.

2 Likes

Nice to be in a group where it’s anyone’s guess who’s being the most supercilious… even accidentally!

1 Like

That’s for Year 2

2 Likes

That one is made up, right?

How could you say that? It’s common parlance here:
LKiDSWc

3 Likes

Those competitive Germans have us all soudly beaten.
At 80 letters, the longest word ever composed in German is Donaudampfschifffahrtselektrizitätenhauptbetriebswerkbauunterbeamtengesellschaft , the “Association for Subordinate Officials of the Head Office Management of the Danube Steamboat Electrical Services”.Jun 3, 2013

1 Like

I like this thread. I find the number of famous examples of very long words represented here quite impressive (although I have not yet seen “antidisestablishmentarianism” [the spell checker says that is incorrect?!]).

I would like to commend @jongarvey for “Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogogoch” (spell checker got that one too [but I don’t think it’s worth it to find the error :confounded:]). That is one I was not expecting (though hoping) to see :wink: . Welsh is an interesting language…

1 Like