Welcoming John Bauer

Continuing the discussion from Why is the de novo creation of Adam and Eve important?:

Nice to meet you. Your blog is really interesting: https://rethinkingcreation.blogspot.com/.

Tell us about yourself?

1 Like

Thank you

Thank you for the warm welcome, and also for driving a bit of traffic to my blog. I’m just a blue-collar layman who is a late convert to Christianity and member of a small Baptist church, so keep that in mind as you read my blog. While I have an abiding interest in issues related to the intersection of faith and science, and some highly developed and strong opinions, I am not an expert in anything—other than my job, which is unrelated to these issues.

As for telling you all about myself, I’m just going to copy-and-paste from the “About” page at my blog, since I had already taken the time to write it once:

About me

My name is John Bauer and I’m an evangelical Christian with a biblical world-view shaped by a Reformed covenant theology and a firm commitment to the supreme authority of Scripture as the enscripturated Word of God, the only infallible rule of faith and life. A husband and father, I am a middle-aged blue-collar professional who is a skeptic, writer, and artist (photography and drawing). I passionately study theology and science and have a deep love of books, nature documentaries, and environmental stewardship.

For the first six years of my Christian faith, I was an enthusiastic young-earth creationist who vigorously opposed evolution and its naturalistic dogma. However, the strength and consistency of the evidence from astronomy and physics eventually convinced me that the universe had to be several billion years old, and the cumulative case from equally compelling evidence led me to accept that the age of the earth was far greater than I had been told. (I was still firmly opposed to evolution, however, though my zeal had been tempered by the exposure of my ignorance.)