Welcoming Stlyankeefan

Hello @stlyankeefan, tell us about yourself? Is this you?

Dr. Sharon R. Bloch, Associate Professor of Science, is fascinated by cell development. “There is a principle in science called Cell Theory, which states that ‘all cells arise from preexisting cells.’ But science can’t explain where the first cell came from or how cells developed into so many different cell types.” That’s where God enters the picture. Bloch loves studying and teaching about God’s work in the world – one reason she loves teaching at LCU. “I get to talk about how science and God fit together.”

https://lincolnchristian.edu/academics/faculty/bloch-sharon/

1 Like

Welcome. Glad to have another Yankee fan here to counter balance the abundance of Red Sox fundamentalists here.

4 Likes

That’s me!

1 Like
1 Like

I have a PhD in Cell and Molecular Biology from Saint Louis University. I used to do research at WUSTL, first in pulmonary medicine and then I moved over to Radiology. I worked in the ORL developing fluorescent imaging agents for tumors. A few years ago I left research to teach full time and I don’t miss research at all. I still review grants and papers for my old lab because I love editing.

4 Likes

@nlents, @Jordan,and @cwhenderson, and @Troendle, another undergrad focused biology professor!

Are you mainly teaching now?

Welcome!

Finally someone I can discuss the miraculous nature of cell membranes with. :smiley:

2 Likes

Yes, I teach at a small Christian college that doesn’t have an undergraduate research program. We don’t have a Biology major, yet. I’m working on building the lab and offering more science courses. I just received approval for an Associate in Science degree, which I’m really excited about.

4 Likes

But, no, seriously.

Welcome.

2 Likes

Thanks! I’m looking forward to discussing science with other scientists. I am the one and only science professor at my university and it gets lonely.

5 Likes