What Parts of the Big Bang Do Scientists Dispute?

Seems there are some respectable scientists who either seriously question or reject some or all aspects of Big Bang theory, including Fred Hoyle, yes? I personally still scratch my head looking for more satisfying evidence for inflationary theory – but I’m not a scientist, so I will have to keep studying that one.

I understand why AiG rejects it (mostly due to “billions of years”?), but wasn’t what became known as the Big Bang identified by a Catholic priest? And didn’t some accuse HIM (wrongly) that he came to his conclusions on his cosmology based on the description of creation in the bible? Even if he did, in this case, lots of scientists now hold sacred what was first ridiculed as imposing a Christian pre-determined conclusion. =)

Anyway, I do understand where your sentiment is coming from, but would also say we may need more openness to skepticism on all sides of these issues, whether it be skepticism of the science or of the theology. But I also don’t really fault devoted Christians for being careful and thoughtful, out of respect and reverence of our God, when it comes to challenging scriptural interpretation.

2 Likes

Fred Hoyle died in 2001. Just the Planck final results (2018) alone is enough to confirm the Big Bang to 1% precision in most parameters of the Lambda- CDM model of the universe. @dga471 chime in here please.

4 Likes

The biggest (only?) reason Hoyle rejected Big Bang was because he considered it “Creationism in disguise”.

2 Likes

Wait, no, he also had issues with Big Bang’s explanation of microwave background. Sorry.

2 Likes

Not exactly. There was a nice discussion found in scientific american recently. One writeup is here: