Paleontology basics: calcium carbonate outlasts chitin

I have no academic background in paleontology so I found this simple fact fascinating:

Trilobite populations were once thought to have composed the majority of aquatic life during the Cambrian, due to the fact that their calcium carbonate-rich shells were more easily preserved than those of other species which had purely chitinous shells.
---- Ward, Peter (2006). Out of Thin Air: Dinosaurs, Birds, and Earth’s Ancient Atmosphere

Considering the fact that chitin is a polysaccharide, a long-chain polymer derived from glucose, I can certainly understand why it would break-down more easily than a calcium carbonate shell.

I realize that this is no doubt a yawn-inducing post for many PS participants—but for this has-been linguist, it sure helps explain the “Cambrian explosion.” If someone produced “fast fact flashcards” for paleontology basics, this kind of concise explanation would be a big help for amateurs like me.

5 Likes

Your mention of paleontology flash cards reminded me of this. I was at a conference in Colorado earlier this year and the USGS had a table. They gave away these neat bookmarks showing the divisions of geologic time. I thought it was a great idea to have all of that on a bookmark. I picked up a few. Here is the pdf
https://pubs.usgs.gov/gip/141/

5 Likes

A basic, and I mean a basic understanding of taphonomy answers a lot of arguments and questions regarding the Cambrian radiation.

2 Likes

My favorite lack of fossil argument comes from Stephen Meyer. Basically it’s, “we have fossilized sponge embryos in the Precambrian. If they can fossilize then everything else can. Where are the fossils?”
Think of the absurdities this leads to. I’ve worked on mosasaurs that are missing some verts. Now the other verts fossilized. Why didn’t these? Am I supposed to conclude this mosasaur had less verts than others?