Questioning Expertise (Curated Discussion Test)

I guess that depends upon what you mean by “recognizing”.

Wrong. We should never trust anybody, especially on the internet, just because of credentials. Always verify.

Rose-colored glasses. Experts are also people with biases. High academic accolades can also breed a kind of pride and arrogance. This goes in both directions. Don’t believe something just because an expert tells you to.

I thought we might try a test run on curated discussion. I’m open to people submitting constructive comments, but will move clutter elsewhere.

2 Likes

For my part, if I’m writing on statistical subjects or math, my knowledge and experience should be recognized and carry more weight on that subject. I have limited expertise on biomedical subjects, and no particular expertise in any number of topics, where I should acknowledge I am not an expert.

Someone with expertise should be allow to shoot down the “2+2=5” propositions quickly, so we can move on tho more productive discussion.

This isn’t free-for-all Internet, we have pretty tight control of membership and passing trolls are quickly eliminated. Our members with expertise are pretty easy to confirm from public sources (publications, employment, etc.).

Lots of things can breed pride and arrogance. Ignorance questioning knowledge can also occur, and is generally the greater problem. An expert often has more invested in giving correct answers than those who know less. There may still be some biases, of course, but generally less bias - or some other expert will correct them.

What do you mean by “weight”? Does it mean that you expect people to assume you’re right when you speak on these matters, and if they don’t make that assumption, they’re failing to recognize your expertise?