Lents at USA Today: Scientific Possibility for 'Adam and Eve'

With the supplement:

11 Likes

Nicely, done!

3 Likes

I should just disclose I’m not a genome scientist precisely, merely a lowly computational biologist.

1 Like

Is a lowly computational biologist at UWSTL lower or higher than a Behe described @NLENTS lesser evolutionary biologist at John Jay? :sunglasses:

2 Likes

@nlents is as impressive as my colleagues at WUSTL. We are lucky to have him here :slight_smile: .

7 Likes

His [Josh’s] “genealogical hypothesis” arrives at a time of great cultural upheaval when facts are malleable, politics perverts science, and the gulf that divides our red and blue tribes is reminiscent of another biblical myth: the parting of the Red Sea.

@NLENTS, that’s some good writing there.

For those who take the Adam and Eve story literally, the value of this effort is obvious. But there is value for nonbelievers as well. Widespread suspicion of science weakens our social fabric and undermines the common good. From the urgency of climate change and medical research, to the frontiers of artificial intelligence and space exploration, scientific discovery holds tremendous potential for the betterment of human lives. As such, efforts to bring more people into the scientific mainstream serve not one political party or one particular faith — but all of humanity, to the ends of the Earth.

@NLENTS, darn it, that made me tear up a little. Sitting here as a science educator in a Christian university, you nailed it! That is one of the best articulations of my professional “calling” into the science and faith discussion that I’ve ever seen. From a Christian perspective I also personally want to see my students develop faith that is strengthened by an engagement with real science and Christ, not weakened by pseudo-science and dogmatic, “my interpretation is the only possible interpretation”, theology.

Powerful stuff, thank you for writing that article Nathan!

13 Likes